## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

H.B. 1037 May 30, 2018 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

H
HOUSE BILL DRH30465-ST-72

Short Title: Superior Court District 4. (Public)

Sponsors: Representatives Dixon, Cleveland, and Shepard (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to:

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2 AN ACT TO MODIFY SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICT 4.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

1

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 7A-41 reads as rewritten:

## "§ 7A-41. Superior court divisions and districts; judges.

(a) The counties of the State are organized into judicial divisions and superior court districts, and each superior court district has the counties, and the number of regular resident superior court judges set forth in the following table, and for districts of less than a whole county, as set out in subsection (b) of this section:

10	as set out in subsecti	Superior		
11	Judicial	Court		No. of Resident
12	Division	District	Counties	Judges
13				
14	First	1	Camden, Chowan,	2
15			Currituck,	
16			Dare, Gates,	
17			Pasquotank,	
18			Perquimans	
19	First	2	Beaufort, Hyde,	1
20			Martin,	
21			Tyrrell, Washington	
22	First	3A	Pitt	2
23	Second	3B	Carteret, Craven,	3
24			Pamlico	
25	Second	4A <u>4</u>	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	1
26			Sampson	
27	<del>Second</del>	4B	<del>Onslow</del>	1
28	Second	5A	(part of New Hanover,	1
29			part of Pender	
30			see subsection (b))	
31		5B	(part of New Hanover,	1
32			part of Pender	
33			see subsection (b))	
34		5C	(part of New Hanover,	1
35			see subsection (b))	
36	First	6A	Halifax	1



	<b>General Assembly Of</b>	North Carolina			Session 2017	
1	First	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	1	_	
2			Northampton			
3	First	7A	Nash	1		
4	First	7B	(part of Wilson,	1		
5			part of Edgecombe,			
6			see subsection (b))			
7	First	7C	(part of Wilson,	1		
8			part of Edgecombe,			
9			see subsection (b))			
10	Second	8A	Lenoir and Greene	1		
11	Second	8B	Wayne	1		
12	er 1 1		F 111 G 111	•		
13	Third	9	Franklin, Granville,	2		
14	7771 ' 1	10.4	Person, Vance, Warren			
15	Third	10A	(part of Wake,	1		
16	7D1 ' 1	10D	see subsection (b))	2		
17	Third	10B	(part of Wake,	2		
18	Th:d	10C	see subsection (b))	1		
19	Third	10C	(part of Wake,	1		
20 21	Third	10D	see subsection (b))	1		
21	Third	10D	(part of Wake,	1		
23	Fourth	11A	see subsection (b)) Harnett,	1		
23 24	rourui	IIA	Lee	1		
25	Fourth	11B	Johnston	1		
26	Fourth	11B 12A	(part of Cumberland,	1		
27	1 Outui	1211	see subsection (b))	1		
28	Fourth	12B	(part of Cumberland,	1		
29	1 outui	120	see subsection (b))	1		
30	Fourth	12C	(part of Cumberland,	2		
31	1 0 001 001	120	see subsection (b))	_		
32	Fourth	13A	Bladen, Columbus	1		
33	Fourth	13B	Brunswick	1		
34	Third	14A	(part of Durham,	1		
35			see subsection (b))			
36	Third	14B	(part of Durham,	3		
37			see subsection (b))			
38	Third	15A	Alamance	2		
39	Third	15B	Orange, Chatham	2		
40	Fourth	16A	Anson, Richmond,	2		
41			Scotland, Hoke			
42	Fourth	16B	Robeson	2		
43	Fifth	17A	Caswell, Rockingham	3		
44	Fifth	17B	Stokes, Surry	2		
45	Fifth	18A	(part of Guilford,	1		
46			see subsection (b))			
47	Fifth	18B	(part of Guilford,	1		
48			see subsection (b))			
49	Fifth	18C	(part of Guilford,	1		
50	T7 0.1	100	see subsection (b))	4		
51	Fifth	18D	(part of Guilford,	1		

Page 2 DRH30465-ST-72

al A	Assembly	Of North Carolii	ıa		Session 201
			see subsection (b))		
Fi	fth	18E	(part of Guilford,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
Si	xth	19A	Cabarrus	1	
	fth	19B	Montgomery, Randolph	1	
	xth	19C	Rowan	1	
	ourth	19D	Moore	1	
	xth	20A	Stanly	1	
	xth	20B	Union	2	
Fi	fth	21A	(part of Forsyth,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
Fi	fth	21B	(part of Forsyth,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
Fi	fth	21C	(part of Forsyth,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
Fi	fth	21D	(part of Forsyth,	1	
			see subsection (b))		
	xth	22A	Alexander, Iredell	2	
	xth	22B	Davidson, Davie	2	
Fi	fth	23	Alleghany, Ashe,	1	
			Wilkes, Yadkin		
Ei	ghth	24	Avery, Madison,	2	
			Mitchell,		
			Watauga, Yancey		
	eventh	25A	Burke, Caldwell	2	
	eventh	25B	Catawba	2	
Se	eventh	26A	(part of Mecklenburg,	2	
~		2 55	see subsection (b))	•	
Se	eventh	26B	(part of Mecklenburg,	3	
~			see subsection (b))	_	
Se	eventh	26C	(part of Mecklenburg,	2	
~		27.4	see subsection (b))	2	
	eventh	27A	Gaston	2	
	eventh	27B	Cleveland, Lincoln	2	
	ghth	28	Buncombe	2	
E1	ghth	29A	McDowell,	1	
ъ.	1.1	200	Rutherford		
E1	ghth	29B	Henderson, Polk,	1	
г.	1.1	20.4	Transylvania	1	
Ei	ghth	30A	Cherokee, Clay,	1	
			Graham, Macon,		
ъ.	1.4	200	Swain	1	
E1	ghth	30B	Haywood, Jackson	1.	

(b1) The qualified voters of District 4 shall elect all judges established for District 4 in subsection (a) of this section, but only persons who reside in Onslow County may be candidates for one of the judgeships and only persons who reside in Duplin, Jones, or Sampson County may be candidates for the remaining judgeship.

...."

46

47 48

49

50

51

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law, and elections in 2018 and thereafter shall be held accordingly.

DRH30465-ST-72 Page 3