## § 77-113. Membership; terms of office; eligibility for appointment; meetings.

(a) The Catawba/Wateree River Basin Advisory Commission shall be composed of 15 members as follows:

- (1) Two members of the North Carolina House of Representatives whose districts include a part of the North Carolina portion of the river basin, to be appointed by the Speaker of the North Carolina House of Representatives.
- (2) Two members of the North Carolina Senate whose districts include a part of the North Carolina portion of the river basin, to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the North Carolina Senate.
- (3) Two members of the South Carolina House of Representatives, to be appointed by the Speaker of the South Carolina House of Representatives.
- (4) Two members of the South Carolina Senate, to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the South Carolina Senate.
- (5) One person from South Carolina representing a water or sewer municipal utility to be appointed by the South Carolina legislative members of the Commission.
- (6) One person from a nonprofit land conservation trust operating within the North Carolina portion of the river basin, appointed by the Governor of North Carolina.
- (7) The President of Duke Power or the President's designee.
- (8) The Chair of the Bi-State Catawba River Task Force or the Chair's designee.
- (9) The Chief Executive Officer of Carolina's Partnership, Inc., or the Chief Executive Officer's designee.
- (10) One person to represent the following commissions, appointed jointly by the three chief executive officers of the commissions: the Lake Wylie Marine Commission established pursuant to Article 4 of Chapter 77 of the General Statutes, the Mountain Island Lake Marine Commission established pursuant to Article 6 of Chapter 77 of the General Statutes, and the Lake Norman Marine Commission established pursuant to Chapter 1089 of the 1969 Session Laws.
- (11) One member of a lake homeowner's association located on the Catawba/Wateree River whose members reside in South Carolina, to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the South Carolina Senate.

(b) The Yadkin/Pee Dee River Basin Advisory Commission shall be composed of 15 members as follows:

- (1) Two members of the North Carolina House of Representatives whose districts include a part of the North Carolina portion of the river basin, to be appointed by the Speaker of the North Carolina House of Representatives.
- (2) Two members of the North Carolina Senate whose districts include a part of the North Carolina portion of the river basin, to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the North Carolina Senate.
- (3) Two members of the South Carolina House of Representatives, to be appointed by the Speaker of the South Carolina House of Representatives.
- (4) Two members of the South Carolina Senate, to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the South Carolina Senate.
- (5) One person from South Carolina representing a water or sewer municipal utility to be appointed by the South Carolina legislative members of the Commission.

- (6) One person from South Carolina representing the agricultural community to be appointed by the South Carolina legislative members of the Commission.
- (7) One person from a water or sewer municipal utility, appointed by the Governor of North Carolina.
- (8) The President of Progress Energy or the President's designee.
- (9) The President of Alcoa Power Generating, Inc., (APGI) or the President's designee.
- (10) The President of Weyerhaeuser or the President's designee.
- (11) A representative of the land development industry, whose organization does business within the Yadkin/Pee Dee River Basin and who shall be appointed by the Chair of the Commission.

(c) Each member appointed to the commissions pursuant to subdivisions (1) and (2) of subsections (a) and (b) of this section shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority so long as the member remains a Representative or Senator. Each member appointed to the commissions pursuant to subdivisions (3) and (4) of subsections (a) and (b) of this section shall serve as provided by the General Assembly of South Carolina. Each member appointed to the commissions pursuant to subdivisions (7) through (9) of subsection (a) and subdivisions (8) through (10) of subsection (b) of this section shall serve for so long as the member continues in the qualifying position or, if the member is a designee, at the pleasure of the designating authority. Each member appointed to the commissions pursuant to subdivisions (6) and (10) of subsection (a) and subdivisions (7) and (11) of subsection (b) of this section shall serve a term of two years and may be reappointed to serve no more than three consecutive full terms or 84 consecutive months, whichever is greater. The term of a person appointed to the commission pursuant to subdivision (10) of subsection (a) of this section shall expire on 1 January of even-numbered years. The term of a person appointed to the commission pursuant to subdivision (6) of subsection (a) of this section shall expire on 1 January of odd-numbered years. The term of a member who is appointed to the commissions pursuant to subdivisions (5) and (11) of subsection (a) and subdivisions (5) and (6) of subsection (b) of this section shall serve as provided by the General Assembly of South Carolina. An appointment to fill a vacancy on the commissions shall be for the unexpired portion of the term. A vacancy on the commissions shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment. Members of the commissions who are appointed from or reside in North Carolina may be removed by the Governor of North Carolina for misfeasance, malfeasance, or nonfeasance, as provided in G.S. 143B-13.

(d) The legislative members of each commission may appoint additional members to the commission to serve as advisory members as the legislative members consider necessary.

(e) The members of each commission shall elect a Chair, Vice-Chair, and any other officers they consider necessary and shall determine the length of the term of office, not to exceed two years, of each officer. The Chair and the Vice-Chair shall not be from the same state and the Chair shall be rotated between the State of North Carolina and the State of South Carolina.

(f) Each commission shall meet upon the call of the Chair. A majority of each commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

(g) The legislative members of the commissions from each state may meet separately to discuss river basin-related issues affecting their state and may report their findings independently of the commissions. (2004-83, s. 1; 2005-37, s. 1.)