§ 20-79.5. Special registration plates for elected and appointed State government officials.

(a) Plates. – The State government officials listed in this section are eligible for a special registration plate under G.S. 20-79.4. The plate shall bear the number designated in the following table for the position held by the official.

Desition	Number on Dieto
Position	Number on Plate
Governor	1
Lieutenant Governor	2
Speaker of the House of Representatives	3
President Pro Tempore of the Senate	4
Secretary of State	5
State Auditor	6
State Treasurer	7
Superintendent of Public Instruction	8
Attorney General	9
Commissioner of Agriculture	10
Commissioner of Labor	11
Commissioner of Insurance	12
Speaker Pro Tempore of the House	13
Legislative Services Officer	14
Secretary of Administration	15
Secretary of Environmental Quality	16
Secretary of Revenue	17
Secretary of Health and Human Services	18
Secretary of Commerce	19
Secretary of Public Safety	20
Secretary of Natural and Cultural Resources	21
Secretary of Military and Veterans Affairs	22
Governor's Staff	23-29
State Budget Officer	30
Director of the Office of State Human Resources	31
Chair of the State Board of Education	32
President of the U.N.C. System	33
President of the Community Colleges System	34
State Board Member, Commission Member,	35-43
or State Employee Not Named in List	
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission	44-46
Assistant Commissioners of Agriculture	47-48
Deputy Secretary of State	49
Deputy State Treasurer	50
Assistant State Treasurer	51
Deputy Commissioner for the Department of Labor	52
Chief Deputy for the Department of Insurance	53
Assistant Commissioner of Insurance	54
Deputies and Assistant to the Attorney General	55-65
Board of Economic Development Nonlegislative Member	66-88
State Ports Authority Nonlegislative Member	89-96
Utilities Commission Member	97-103
State Board Member, Commission Member,	
or State Employee Not Named in List	104

G.S. 20-79.5

or State Employee Not Named in List

(b) Designation. – When the table in subsection (a) designates a range of numbers for certain officials, the number given an official in that group shall be assigned. The Governor shall assign a number for members of the Governor's staff, nonlegislative members of the Board of Economic Development, nonlegislative members of the State Ports Authority, members of State boards and commissions, and for State employees. The Attorney General shall assign a number for the Attorney General's deputies and assistants.

The first number assigned to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission is reserved for the Chair of that Commission. The remaining numbers shall be assigned to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission members on the basis of seniority. The first number assigned to the Utilities Commission is reserved for the Chair of that Commission. The remaining numbers shall be assigned to the Utilities Commission members on the basis of seniority. The first number assigned to the Post-Release Supervision and Parole Commission is reserved for the Chair of that Commission. The remaining numbers shall be assigned to the Post-Release Supervision and Parole Commission members on the basis of seniority. (1991, c. 672, s. 2; c. 726, s. 23; 1991 (Reg. Sess., 1992), c. 959, s. 1; 1996, 2nd Ex. Sess., c. 18, s. 8(a); 1997-443, ss. 11A.118(a), 11A.119(a); 2000-137, s. 4.(e); 2006-203, s. 14; 2007-483, s. 3(a); 2011-145, s. 19.1(g), (i), (m); 2012-83, s. 4; 2013-382, s. 9.1(c); 2015-241, ss. 14.30(t), (v), 24.1(n); 2015-268, s. 7.3(a).)

G.S. 20-79.5