## § 18C-111. Commission membership; appointment; selection of chair; vacancies; removal; meetings; compensation.

(a) The Commission shall consist of nine members, five of whom shall be appointed by the Governor, two of whom shall be appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and two of whom shall be appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Commissioners may be removed by the appointing authority for cause. The Governor shall select the chair of the Commission from among its membership, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

(b) Of the initial appointees of the Governor, three members shall serve a term of one year, one member shall serve a term of two years, and one member shall serve a term of three years. Of the initial appointees of the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, one member shall serve a term of two years, and one member shall serve a term of three years. Of the initial appointees of the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Senate, one member shall serve a term of two years, and one member shall serve a term of the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one member shall serve a term of two years, and one member shall serve a term of three years. All succeeding appointments shall be for terms of five years. Members shall not serve for more than two successive terms.

(c) Vacancies shall be filled by the appointing authority for the unexpired portion of the term in which they occur.

(d) The Commission shall meet at least quarterly upon the call of the chair. A majority of the total membership of the Commission shall constitute a quorum.

(e) Members of the Commission shall receive per diem, subsistence, and travel as provided in G.S. 138-5 and G.S. 138-6. (2005-344, s. 1; 2005-276, s. 31.1(d); 2006-259, s. 8(c).)