## § 143B-68. Public Librarian Certification Commission – members; selection; quorum; compensation.

The Public Librarian Certification Commission of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources shall consist of five members as follows: (i) the chairman of the public libraries section of the North Carolina Library Association, (ii) two individuals named by the Governor upon the nomination of the North Carolina Library Association, (iii) the dean, department chair, program director, or equivalent of a State or regionally accredited graduate school of librarianship in North Carolina appointed by the Governor, and (iv) one member at large appointed by the Governor.

The members shall serve four-year terms or while holding the appropriate chairmanship. Any appointment to fill a vacancy created by the resignation, dismissal, death or disability of a member shall be for the balance of the unexpired term.

The Governor shall have the power to remove any member of the Commission from office for misfeasance, malfeasance, and nonfeasance according to the provisions of G.S. 143B-13 of the Executive Organization Act of 1973.

The members of the Commission shall receive per diem, and necessary travel expenses in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 138-5.

A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

All clerical and other services required by the Commission shall be supplied by the Secretary of the Department through the regular staff of the Department. (1973, c. 476, s. 50; 2015-241, s. 14.30(s); 2017-212, s. 8.12; 2020-74, s. 19(a).)

G.S. 143B-68 Page 1