Article 5.

Special Provisions.

§ 115D-59. Multiple-county administrative areas.

Should two or more counties determine to form an administrative area for the purpose of establishing and supporting an institution, the boards of commissioners of all such counties shall jointly propose a contract to be submitted to the State Board of Community Colleges as part of the request for establishment of an institution. The contract shall provide, in terms consistent with this Chapter, for financial support of the institution, selection of trustees, termination of the contract and the administrative area, and any other necessary provisions. The State Board of Community Colleges shall have authority to approve the terms of the contract as a prerequisite for granting approval of the establishment of the institution and the administrative area. (1963, c. 448, s. 23; 1979, c. 462, s. 2; c. 896, s. 13; 1979, 2nd Sess., c. 1130, s. 1.)

§ 115D-60. Special provisions for Central Piedmont Community College.

- (a) The board of commissioners of Mecklenburg County is authorized to provide the local financial support for the Central Piedmont Community College as provided in G.S. 115D-32 by levying a special tax to a maximum annual rate equal to the maximum rate last approved by the voters of the county for the support of the Central Piedmont Community College as operated pursuant to Article 3, Chapter 116, of the General Statutes of North Carolina, or by appropriations from nontax revenues, or by both. The question of increasing the maximum annual rate may be submitted at an election held in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 115D-33(d) and the appropriate provisions of G.S. 115D-35.
- (b) When, in the opinion of the board of trustees of said institution, the use of any building, building site, or other real property owned or held by said board is unnecessary or undesirable for the purposes of said institution the board of trustees may sell, exchange, or lease such property in the same manner as is provided by law for the sale, exchange, or lease of school property by county or city boards of education. The proceeds of any such sale or lease shall be used for capital outlay purposes. (1963, c. 448, s. 23; 1965, c. 402; 1979, c. 462, s. 2.)

§ 115D-61. Special provisions for Coastal Carolina Community College.

All local taxes heretofore authorized by the voters of Onslow County to be levied annually for the local financial support of the Onslow County Industrial Education Center may continue to be levied by the board of commissioners of Onslow County for the purpose of providing local financial support of the institution under its present name. (1967, c. 279; 1979, c. 462, s. 2.)

§ 115D-62. Trustee Association Regions.

The State is divided into six Trustee Association Regions as follows:

Region 1: The counties of Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, and Transylvania.

- Region 2: The counties of Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Iredell, Mitchell, Rowan, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and Yancey.
- Region 3: The counties of Alamance, Davidson, Caswell, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Vance, Warren, and Wake.
- Region 4: The counties of Anson, Chatham, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Robeson, Scotland, Stanly, and Union.

Region 5: The counties of Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Columbus, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, and Wayne.

Region 6: The counties of Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, and Wilson. (1979, c. 896, s. 9; 1993, c. 69, s. 1.)

§§ 115D-63 through 115D-67. Reserved for future codification purposes.